Artists in Middle-Earth: from text to image

Presentation

Since October 2017, I have been working on a thesis on interior illustrations for J.R.R Tolkien's Middle-earth narratives, under the supervision of Isabelle Gadoin and Vincent Ferré.

In the field in Tolkien-related studies, the place granted to illustration is reduced to a few research studies and the three beautiful books by Christina Scull and Wayne G. Hammond on J.R.R. Tolkien’s art as an illustrator. As for the other artists who dedicated themselves to Middle-Earth, they are seldom the subjects of studies and often are the authors of the books displaying their art. The most exemplary cases are those of Alan Lee, to whose bibliography of illustrated Tolkien books was recently added The Fall of Gondolin. The other English-speaking artists to have worked on Tolkien’s texts – Pauline Baynes, Jemima Catlin, Ferguson Dewar, Eric Fraser, Ingahild Grathmer, Michael Hague, Francis Mosley, Ted Nasmith and David Wyatt – have not been studied in a comparative analysis such as the one this thesis offers to draw.

The richness of these artists’ corpuses – so much enjoyed by a wide audience but so little-known – demands a more exhaustive work on a larger scale, and the reachability of some of them is an exceptional opportunity to make sure that such a study remains faithful to their artistic ambition.

The research focuses on the processes by which artists approach the author’s words to create illustrations. Considering the varied purposes of such artworks, the research is primarily concerned with inside illustrations for the narratives taking place in Middle-earth.

Questioning the passage from a text to an image is all the more relevant in the prospect of a comparison with J.R.R. Tolkien’s own drawings and watercolours, the ones for The Hobbit having been published in his lifetime while his research sketches for other Middle-Earth narratives were not. The exhibitions held by the Oxford Weston Library in 2018 and by the BnF in 2019-2020, follow several retrospectives which have highlighted the graphic works of the author.

Variations of tone between the different tales being undeniable, a thorough study will question the influence of the writing style and focus of each text on the artworks, including on Tolkien’s own art.

In spite of the artists’ new publications over the last few years, their art has inspired more articles than substantial research studies. A thesis devoted to their production will shed light on the almost exhaustive work of illustration they have undertaken since the middle of the 20th century and the way Tolkien’s texts have permeated their careers.

Conferences and talks

Artists from Middle-earth: a 21st-century dive into J.R.R. Tolkien’s Secondary World

Saturday 13 February 2021

For its second online instalment, the Tolkien Society Seminar was a completely free event.
My paper – the first of the day – explores artists who present their art as coming from Middle-earth, rather than simply setting out to illustrate it. In discussion are Alan Lee, John Howe, Tómas Hijo, and Jay Johnstone.
The whole day was recorded and uploaded to YouTube.

Middle-earth in Paris : the BnF exhibition of 2019-2020

Saturday 19 September 2020

The first online version of Oxonmoot, the yearly convention of the Tolkien Society, took place between Friday 18 and Sunday 20 September.
On Saturday morning, I took the audience on a virtual tour of the « Tolkien: Voyage en Terre du Milieu » BnF exhibition that had taken place in Paris from October 2019 to February 2020. My talk started with a quick overview of Tolkien’s reception in France, went on to describe the exhibition and how it came to be, and ended with a note on the accompanying programme of conferences that took place alongside the event.

A complement to this talk is available on my PhD blog here.

"The other illustrated Silmarillion: Francis Mosley for the Folio Society"

Saturday 4 July 2020

The 2020 Tolkien Society Seminar has taken place online for the first time since its creation in 1986.
My paper focused on Francis Mosley’s illustrations for The Silmarillion (The Folio Society, 1997), paying particular attention to the way the artist created visuals to echo the previous editions of The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit for the Folio Society.
The whole day was recorded and uploaded to YouTube.

"Des illustrations en quête de sens : J.R.R. Tolkien et la Terre du Milieu"

Friday 20 March 2020

As part of the symposium entitled "The Frontiers of the image" at Paris-Est Créteil university, this talk was to explore the definition of illustrations, maps and graphic elements in J.R.R. Tolkien's The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings. The symposium was postponed.

Interview with Alan Lee at the French national Library

Thursday 6 February 2020

The French national Library organized a series of conferences alongside its exhibition "Tolkien: Voyage en Terre du Milieu". This cycle came to a close on Thursday 6th February with an interview of Alan Lee, illustrator and artistic director whose work has contributed to putting Tolkien's words into pictures.

I had the honour and great pleasure of hosting the interview which was filmed and is available here (in French because two interpreters translated the whole discussion live for the audience wearing headphones) :
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wkzyfp0hmys 

Our conversation opened on a moving hommage to Christopher Tolkien by Vincent Ferré.

A transcript of the interview in English is available on my PhD blog:

https://voirtolkien.hypotheses.org/

"The circulation of visual motifs in illustrations of Middle-earth narratives: an echo of textual mobility"

Friday 18 October 2019

This talk, given as part of Evanghelia Stead's TIGRE seminar at the Paris Ecole normale supérieure, addressed the theme of the year: "transfers, exchanges, circulation".

I examined the circulation of texts such as Beren and Lúthien and The Fall of Gondolin, and of illustrations by Alan Lee, Ted Nasmith, Eric Fraser and Tolkien himself. Studying illustrations for Middle-earth narratives thus implies to take into consideration images that found themselves transformed according to the book they featured in. In their turn, these images drew from both a visual and verbal substrate.
 

Talk : Tolkien and illustration

Friday 27 September 2019

A talk for a general audience given in a bookshop to celebrate the upcoming exhibition "Tolkien : Voyage en Terre du Milieu" and the numerous publications concerning Tolkien.

After a biographical sketch, I presented most of the books forming my corpus of anglophone illustrated editions of Middle-earth stories.

“Artists in Middle-earth: illustrating The Lord of the Rings“

Friday 09 August 2019

I gave this talk at Tolkien2019, the convention organized by the Tolkien Society in Birmingham in August 2019.

It consisted in a presentation of the two illustrated editions of The Lord of the Rings (by Ingahild Grathmer and Eric Fraser for the Folio Society in 1977, and by Alan Lee for HarperCollins in 1991), with a focus on text and image interactions.

© 2020 by Marie Bretagnolle. All rights reserved. Terms and conditions. Background by Brandi Redd on Unsplash.
  • Icône social Instagram
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon

Des Artistes en Terre du Milieu : du texte à l’image

Présentation

Je prépare depuis octobre 2017 une thèse sur les illustrations intérieures dans les récits de la Terre du Milieu par J.R.R. Tolkien, sous la direction d'Isabelle Gadoin et Vincent Ferré.

Dans le domaine des études tolkieniennes, l’illustration occupe une place réduite à quelques travaux universitaires et aux trois beaux ouvrages de Christina Scull et Wayne G. Hammond sur l’art de J.R.R. Tolkien en tant qu’illustrateur. Quant aux autres artistes qui se sont consacrés à la Terre du Milieu, force est de constater qu’ils sont peu étudiés et qu’ils sont souvent les auteurs des livres qui leur sont dédiés. Le cas le plus exemplaire est probablement celui d’Alan Lee, dont la bibliographie des ouvrages de Tolkien qu’il a illustrés s’est récemment enrichie de La Chute de Gondolin. Les autres artistes anglophones s’étant attachés à l’œuvre de Tolkien, Pauline Baynes, Jemima Catlin, Ferguson Dewar, Eric Fraser, Ingahild Grathmer, Michael Hague, Francis Mosley, Ted Nasmith et David Wyatt, quant à eux, n’ont pas non plus fait l’objet d’une étude comparative telle que celle que propose cette thèse. La richesse des corpus de ces artistes – si appréciés du grand public mais finalement peu connus – appelle à un travail plus exhaustif et d’une large portée, d’autant plus que la disponibilité de certains d’entre eux est une opportunité exceptionnelle pour s’assurer la fidélité d’une telle étude à leurs ambitions artistiques.

Il s’agira d’étudier les procédés par lesquels les artistes s’emparent des mots de l’auteur pour produire des illustrations. Les finalités étant variées, on s’attachera aux illustrations internes des récits de la Terre du Milieu.

Marie_Bretagnolle_Tolkien_8.jpg
Marie_Bretagnolle_Tolkien_5.jpg

La question du passage de l’écrit à l’image est d’autant plus essentielle dans la perspective d’une comparaison avec les dessins et aquarelles de J.R.R. Tolkien lui-même, dont les illustrations pour Le Hobbit ont été publiées, mais dont les recherches pour ses autres récits de la Terre du Milieu n’ont pas connu la même fortune. L’exposition de la bibliothèque Weston, en 2018, et celle de la BnF, en 2019-2020, s’inscrit ainsi dans la lignée de plusieurs rétrospectives mettant en lumière le travail graphique de l’auteur.

Les variations de ton entre les différentes romans étant indéniables, une étude poussée interrogera l’influence du style d’écriture et de la visée des textes sur les illustrations, de même que sur le corpus dessiné et peint de Tolkien.

Malgré la perspective de nouvelles éditions illustrées au cours des années précédentes, le travail de ces artistes a plus souvent inspiré des articles plus ou moins succincts que des travaux de recherche conséquents. Une thèse consacrée à leur production permettra de mettre en lumière le travail d’illustration presque exhaustif qu’ils ont entrepris depuis le milieu du XXe siècle et la façon dont les textes de Tolkien ont irrigué leur carrière.

Conférences et communications

Des Artistes venus de Terre du Milieu: une plongée dans le Monde Secondaire de J.R.R. Tolkien au 21e siècle.

Samedi 13 février 2021

Pour son deuxième rendez-vous en ligne, le séminaire de la Tolkien Society a exploré « Les réceptions de J.R.R. Tolkien au vingt-et-unième siècle ». L’évènement était entièrement gratuit.
Ma communication – la première de la journée – met en lumière des artistes qui présentent leur art comme venant de la Terre du Milieu plutôt qu’inspiré par elle. J’ parle d’Alan Lee, John Howe, Tómas Hijo et Jay Johnstone.
Une captation est disponible sur YouTube ici.

La Terre du Milieu à Paris : l'exposition de la BnF de 2019-2020

Samedi 19 septembre 2020

Pour sa première version entièrement en ligne, Oxonmoot 2020 a permis de rassembler un public encore plus international.

J'y ai présenté une communication sur l'exposition de la BnF "Tolkien : Voyage en Terre du Milieu", retraçant son parcours et les évènements associés.

Un complément à cette conférence est disponible sur mon blog de thèse ici.

"L’autre Silmarillion illustré : Francis Mosley pour la Folio Society"

Samedi 4 juillet 2020

Le séminaire de la Tolkien Society s’est déroulé en ligne pour la première fois depuis sa création en 1986.
Ma communication a porté sur les illustrations de Francis Mosley pour Le Silmarillion (Folio Society, 1997) ; j’y étudie en particulier la façon dont l’artiste a créé des images en écho aux précédentes éditions du Hobbit et du Seigneur des Anneaux chez la Folio Society.

Une captation est disponible sur YouTube ici.

"Des illustrations en quête de sens : J.R.R. Tolkien et la Terre du Milieu"

Vendredi 20 mars 2020 - colloque annulé

Dans le cadre du colloque "Frontières de l'Image" organisé à l'université Paris-Est Créteil, cette communication devait explorer la définition des illustrations, cartes et éléments graphiques reproduits dans Le Hobbit et Le Seigneur des Anneaux de J.R.R. Tolkien. Le colloque a été reporté.

Entretien avec Alan Lee à la BnF

Jeudi 6 février 2020

Pour accompagner l'exposition "Tolkien : Voyage en Terre du Milieu", la Bibliothèque nationale de France a organisé un cycle de conférences qui s'est achevé le 6 février 2020 avec la venue d'Alan Lee, illustrateur et directeur artistique dont le travail a contribué à forger l'imaginaire collectif de la Terre du Milieu.

J'ai eu l'honneur et le grand plaisir de mener l’entretien qui a été filmé et est disponible ici.

Notre discussion s'est ouverte sur un hommage émouvant de Vincent Ferré à Christopher Tolkien.

Conférence : "La circulation des motifs visuels dans les illustrations des récits de la Terre du Milieu : un écho de la mobilité des textes."
 

Vendredi 18 octobre 2019

Cette conférence, prononcée dans le cadre du séminaire du TIGRE qu'Evanghelia Stead organise à l'Ecole normale supérieure de Paris, répondait au thème de l'année "Transferts, échanges, circulations".

J'y examine la circulation des textes comme ceux de Beren et Lúthien et La Chute de Gondolin et des illustrations d'Alan Lee, de Ted Nasmith, d'Eric Fraser et de Tolkien lui-même. L’étude des illustrations associées aux récits de la Terre du Milieu invite ainsi à la prise en compte d’une circulation des images qui se trouvent parfois modifiées au fil des ouvrages dans lesquelles elles apparaissent, elles-mêmes puisant dans un substrat à la fois visuel et textuel.
 

Conférence : Tolkien et l'illustration

Vendredi 27 septembre 2019

Une conférence grand public tenue dans une librairie pour célébrer la future exposition à la BnF et les nombreuses publications autour de Tolkien.

Après une première partie biographique, j'ai présenté l'essentiel des ouvrages de mon corpus des éditions anglophones illustrées des histoires de la Terre du Milieu.

“Artists in Middle-earth: illustrating The Lord of the Rings“

Vendredi 09 août 2019

J'ai prononcé cette conférence lors de Tolkien2019, l’évènement organisé par la Tolkien Society à Birmingham, en août 2019.
Elle consistait en une présentation des deux éditions illustrées du Seigneur des Anneaux (par Ingahild Grathmer et Eric Fraser pour la Folio Society en 1977, et par Alan Lee pour HarperCollins en 1991), avec un intérêt particulier pour les interactions entre texte et image.